FAQs
Panel: Sustainability and Funding
Read Posts

This message is in reply to:
Student Achievement - Michael Klentschy

Posted by: Mark St. John
Posted on: May 21, 2001 at 4:17 PM

EVALUATING PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT...

Recently I had an experience that re-enforced my suspicions about the appropriateness of using student achievement measures to evaluate the effectiveness of professional development.

I attended a two-day golf clinic last weekend. I have been playing golf for 25 years and am largely self taught. For better or worse, I have a well-developed practice. For the past ten years or so, I have taken several lessons a year, and every now and then I attend a multi-day clinic all for the purpose of improving my game. In these lessons I get a chance to study (and reflect) on my swing as it actually is, and I get a chance to try a few new things. The best I can realistically hope for is to get a few ideas as to how, over the next year or so, I can work on my game, focusing on a few specific aspects that could benefit from my direct attention.

The clinic I attended last weekend was taught by a golf instructor named Dave. Dave has been playing golf his whole life. Like many others he was not quite good enough to make it on the PGA tour, but not unhappily, Dave has become a teacher of golf. To my mind, Dave is a good teacher. He draws on his experience both as a player of the game, and as a teacher of many who try to play the game. He knows the elements of a good swing, but perhaps more importantly, he is a good diagnostician of flawed swings he is able to provide the right tip at the right time to help each student identify and fix the flaw that is most problematic at the time. Dave takes the profession of teaching golf seriously; last month he attended a two-day golf school with Butch Harmon.